I DIE! (“We never say – oh, I have everything I need now.”)

I never thought Tom Ford could actually do something like this! I underestimated him. Sure, I knew how capable and talented he was but this… this is so much more than I expected. I thought his collection would be just another luxurious line we’ll all want in our closets but in the end it stunned me. Why? Check out the video above and you’ll see.

First, I would like to comment on his statement how our culture makes us constantly buy more and more new stuff and how we never get to a point where we say “I have everything I need now.” I’ve never said that either. I mean, there is always something new I could buy and put in my closet. I believe he wants to say something Vivienne Westwood once said “Buy less, choose well, and mix it all.” Why would we want so many things when we can’t wear them all at once. I think he is aiming to make his clothes those that a woman will buy and won’t need anything else. Maybe that’s his intention. To make the clothes that complete everything a stylish well dressed woman needs in her wardrobe. In stead of buying dozens of items we won’t like and won’t wear (but they looked so cool in the store), we should buy a dozen of his fabulous pieces and wear them constantly and feel great in them. It’s definitely an idea that’s easy to believe in. I mean, have you seen the clothes? They’re fabulous.

I wasn’t a fan of Tom Ford at all. Now I’m reconsidering my rigid opinion. I would definitely loooove to have some of the clothes he presented. Definitely a Liya Kebede piece, Karlie Kloss’ piece and some other suits like that marvelous leopard suit and shirts with deep and revealing cleavages… I don’t know if I’ve seen a piece I don’t like, well, maybe I’m not a big fan of the fringe dresses but that’s just me.

But Tom did it fantastic. The girls he chose. The exclusivity of the event that he himself made so exclusive. The audience and our impatience. He is the master of the show. Really. I take back everything I said about him making another boring line for rich kids and spoiled divas. This was pure beauty. This was amazing.  

‘My clothes are expensive,’ says Ford, unashamedly. ‘But for me, at this stage in my life, what’s interesting is trying to make the best thing I can make.’ (Harper’s Bazaar UK)

Leave a Reply

  • archive

